Jazzing Up A Wire Basket

I had picked up a wire basket with a burlap lining to give me some extra storage in the dining room. I loved the rustic feel of the wire basket but felt it was a little blah.

Wire Basket - Before

In order to give the basket a little pizazz I decided to stencil a design on it. I used a Martha Stewart stencil and craft paint I already had in my stash of craft supplies. I secured the stencil to the burlap using blue painters tape and put a piece of cardboard behind the burlap lining to prevent the paint from bleeding through the burlap.

Stenciling Burlap

Stenciled Burlap

The stencil was applied to all 4 sides of the burlap lining, but I waited for the paint to dry to the touch before moving on to the next side in order to prevent the paint from smearing. As soon as it dried, it was ready to go back up on top of the dining room hutch to provide some much needed additional storage.

Wire Basket - After

2 thoughts on “Jazzing Up A Wire Basket

Comment

