Making a Burlap Covered Box

I’ve got a bunch of cardboard shipping boxes in the garage and was trying to think of ways decorate them so I could use them for storage in my house. I settled on covering one of them in burlap, because, well…I’ve got a thing for burlap. I just love bulap’s texture and casual look.

Burlap Box Supplies

I taped up the seams of the box and then it was ready for the burlap. Using Mod Podge, I glued down ¼ of an inch of burlap onto 1 side of the box to begin with. For this first side, I actually put the glue on top of the burlap to ensure it was secured to the box.

Starting the Burlap

Once it dried I continued going around the sides of the box, first brushing on the glue and then pressing the burlap onto the wet glue. After each side set up, I’d move onto the next side repeating the same steps.

Laying Down the Mod Podge

Burlap on Box

The fourth and final side of the box was finished off by folding under the burlap to create a clean seam. Again, to ensure it was secured, glue was put on top of the burlap. It dries clear so it doesn’t dramatically change the look of the burlap.

Folded over Burlap

Glued Burlap Edges

A Clean Seam

After the entire box was dry, I trimmed up the burlap that hung over the edges of the box and I was good to go.

Finished Burlap Box

Comment

